Bit of Happy #2: Put One Foot in Front of the Other

15 Sep

The journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.
-Loa Tzu

Life is a journey of a thousand miles (and probably many, many more); broken down into smaller pieces, your life has moments that can be overwhelming.

Sometimes it helps (me, at least) not to look at the big picture, despite what everyone tells you. Sometimes it’s easier to take one day at a time, one hour at a time, one minute at a time and sometimes, even one moment at a time. Confronting the unknown and staring it straight in the face isn’t always easy, and I’ll be the first to admit that. But focusing on the first step, instead of the millions you need to take to reach your goal, sometimes makes the walk along the way a little easier…

Is there someone you’ve had a crush on since kindergarten? A dream job that you would love to acquire? A family member or friend you wish you were closer with? Or maybe… it could be something as simple (but hard at the same time) as: Going in for that first kiss. Getting an A on a test. Living a healthier lifestyle. Getting a blog started. *Hint Hint*

The point of this is not to point out your every insecurity. But instead, to recognize them and take steps toward achieving them. So, I’m asking you to do this…

Take that leap of faith – start your journey – even if it is as simple as stepping out of your front door. You just have to muster enough confidence to take that first step. Worry about the next step when the time comes.

So, get in touch with your crush. Give your friend or family member a call and make plans. Apply for that dream job. Spend time with the ones you love. Go in for that first kiss. Buy some more fresh fruits and vegetables. Start a blog with your first entry.

Just go for it! Be proactive. That’s what life is all about. Waiting around for life to happen is the way to make nothing happen in your life. Does that make sense?

I can promise you one thing – one of the worst things in life is regret. Avoid the ‘What if’s, ‘Could have’s, ‘Should have’s, ‘Would have’s… You catch my drift.

What’s the worst that could happen? To me, missing out on what could have / should have / would have been if you had just done _________ – that’s the worst thing that could happen. Hopefully you never have to fill in that sentence, but…

…the best part – it’s never too late!

I’ve wanted to start a blog for years now. I just didn’t know what inspired me enough to write about every day. Well, I think I found that. And to bring hope and happiness to others through my writing is the best part!

So, hopefully this inspires you to put on your walking shoes. Remember, the first step can be the hardest.

Does this quote have a different meaning to you?

Do you have an experience of where you took that leap of faith? Or maybe when you wish you had?


2 Responses to “Bit of Happy #2: Put One Foot in Front of the Other”

  1. Bobby Bouche September 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    HI!! Lol
    I like how you chose Lao Tzu and I can compare his (even though it was probably a bunch of different writers with a common concept) free spirited theme to experience life to you of course, especially since he was believed to be a traveler and you can’t wait to get out their yourself!
    This brings me to your actual writing, all about taking a leap and journey, looking for that great adventure! And that’s what life’s all about, as Helen Keller said, life is either a great adventure or nothing! As we progress through life, looking back, the worst thing I believe is, and you said as well, is to live with regret. It kind of makes me want to impulsive just go fly to some foreign country and see what happens =P
    And when I saw the name Lao Tzu, it took me back to researching the guy some time ago, and made me want to find one of his quotes that I liked. Which also reminded me, I think the only reason I like his quotes is because they are illusive, which is most likely just because of translation haha.
    “The partial becomes complete; the crooked, straight; the empty, full; the worn out, new. He whose desires are few gets them; he whose desires are many goes astray.
    Therefore, the sage holds in his embrace the one thing of humility, and manifests it to all the world. He is free from self-display, and therefore he shines; from self-assertion, and therefore he is distinguished; from self-boasting, and therefore his merit is acknowledged; from self-complacency, and therefore he acquires superiority. It is because he is thus free from striving that therefore no one in the world is able to strive with him. . .”
    Ohh, and I believe I may have sent you a message stating I like this site. What I really like about your blog, is first, you finally made it (even though I’m pretty sure you might of tried one a couple of years ago), secondly I like your writing style (it has a personality that can capture), and third and most importantly, it is very sincere.
    And ps, to poke fun, I like this transition of yours hehe, “Go in for that first kiss. Buy some more fresh fruits and vegetables.” Nothing like that first kiss……or buying some fresh fruits and vegetables???

    • Stephanie Frances September 20, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

      This is exactly the kind of comment I’m looking for in Little Bits of Happy. The kind that really starts conversation, effects people… and perhaps inspires them to make a change in their life. It is nice to know that one, someone is actually reading my posts. (Again, like I’ve said in previous entries… Even if I can just change one life for the better, then this blog was truly worth it.) And two that my post got you to think… question your direction in life and maybe even give you that courage to hop on a plane and see where life takes you.

      Also, I really like your quote that you put in your comment. You should consider submitting a quote by going to the ‘Submit A Quote’ page and following the directions. I’d really appreciate it, and I have no doubt that you could come up with something great!

      Thank you again for your thoughts and sharing them with Little Bits of Happy!

Leave a Reply

