Bit of Happy #4: Live for Today

17 Sep

“Death is an absolute. And with each moment that passes, we grow nearer to our ultimate fate. Understand that life is slipping away from your hands. And you never know when tomorrows will run out. So learn to love the life you’ve got. Accept the inevitable truths that so often society teaches us to deny and ignore. Go out and live without your list of things to do tomorrow, and for one day, live as if it were your last… Because before you know it, that day will be your last.”
-Anonymous

I love the concept of living for today… of living one day of your life as if you knew it would be your last. That’s what really pulled me toward this quote – that very concept. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, but I feel as though I’d find myself doing something crazy… like jumping out of a plane. But knowing – or well, believing that I have more days to live than only today, I tend pull back on the reckless feats.

And see, that’s the thing about this quote. It’s telling you to do the complete opposite. It’s telling you to not be afraid to step off the ledge, get your hands a little dirty, make the difference you’ve been waiting for… It’s telling you to stop waiting for life to happen, and instead, make it happen.

That’s the problem with life. We hold ourselves back. We think we have many days left in our life to do the things we want so badly to do… so we hold back experiencing. We hold back living. ‘After this happens, then I’ll be able to do this…’ – something I’m at fault for saying. But what if today really was my last? Could I truly say I’ve lived my life to the fullest, and that I’ve done everything I’ve wanted to do? Could you?

Have you ever lived a single day as if it were your last? What did you do?

If you’ve never done it before, what would you imagine your last day to be like? What would you want to do?

Reflecting on these questions can really prioritize and bring forth what is important in life. The insignificant things that we tend to get caught up in will fade into the background.

Share your thoughts.

And remember: don’t just imagine what you’d do, get out there and live it. I can guarantee you that list of things sitting in front of you are some of the most important moments of your life.


Leave a Reply

