Bit of Happy #10: Never Say Good-Bye

27 Sep

Little Bits of Happy’s First Quote Submission!!!!
Thanks, Amanda

For her senior dance recital, Amanda performed Peter Pan, starring as Wendy. Ever since fourth grade when Amanda experienced her first recital, she had a passion for expressing herself through dance. “The senior class at my dance program had grown really close, considering most of us have been dancing together for at least nine years,” she recalls.

From shopping to sleepovers, Amanda reminisces the moments she shared with friendships that will last a lifetime. “Most of all, our long dance rehearsals and fundraising efforts brought us together,” she says.

The last couple of weeks leading up to her last dance recital before leaving for college were very difficult. The group of girls grew even closer through their dedication to make it to Disney. This opportunity was a first for the Ballet School of Glyndon, and the girls worked relentlessly to make enough money to live this dream-come-true. Their hard work paid off, and reality hit as they were boarding the plane to Florida. Within hours they would be dancing in Downtown Disney. Amanda says, “It was a bittersweet moment. We knew that everything we did together could be our last before we went our separate ways.”

On the night before Amanda’s Peter Pan recital, her teachers gathered all of the senior dancers and gave each of them a card. Beyond the envelope was this quote: Never say good-bye because good-bye means going away, and going away means forgetting.

Even after her recital of Peter Pan, Amanda says, “It reminds me that I will never forget the friends and times I had at my ballet school, because I will never say good-bye to them. And they will never say good-bye to me.”

Photograph Submitted By: Amanda Wheeler

f3686d

2 Responses to “Bit of Happy #10: Never Say Good-Bye”

  1. Amanda Emery (Tinkerbell) September 27, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    Amanda…

    I LOVE YOU AND I ALWAYS WILL. This is so wonderful :] I’m so happy that we all chose to stick with dance and got so close because of it, and I’m so happy to have you in my life. You’re one of the most important people in my life. And I love you. No matter how many miles apart we are, we’ll always have eachother.

    I love you!

Leave a Reply

