Bit of Happy #23: Every Sixty Seconds

14 Oct

“As we grow up, we learn that even one person who wasn’t supposed to ever let you down probably will. You will have your heart broken more than once, and it’s harder ever time. You’ll break hearts too, so remember how it felt when yours was broken. You’ll fight with your best friend. You’ll blame a new love for things an old one did. You’ll cry because time is passing too fast, and you’ll eventually lose someone you love. So, take too many pictures, laugh too much, and love as though you’ve never been hurt, because every sixty seconds you spend upset is a minute of happiness you’ll never get back.”
-Anonymous

I love the realness portrayed in this quote. The messiness. The bumps and hurdles. The high points and cherished moments. The optimism. This quote is much like real life and everything that it embraces. As your eyes skim across the lines, it kind of takes you on a rollercoaster ride of happy and sad moments – much like life does.

You can never predict what path your life will lead. The moment you think you have it all figured out, everything goes askew. The moment you think you have nothing left, something inside you finds the strength to get to tomorrow.

No relationship is perfect. There will be arguments. Doubts. Misunderstandings. Uncertainties. Putting your heart out there is risking it to be broken. But when you find a good, strong person, I believe, you should “love as though you’ve never been hurt.” Or at least that’s what I thought until…

I was talking to a friend the other day about “blaming a new love for things an old one did,” and whether it is okay to do that. I argued that I try to clear my mind and open my heart the same way I would to the first person I ever chose to get close to. Basically to: “love as though you’ve never been hurt.” And I didn’t make this argument because this quote said to, but because I’m not sure I necessarily agree that you should keep yourself guarded from a great person, inside and out, (if he or she actually happens to be that way) because of what the last jerk did.

On the other hand, my friend argued that you have to ‘blame’ a ‘new love’ for things the last one did to protect yourself. He said that putting yourself out there with no guard is asking to have your heart broken. He said that your first priority should always be yourself, and if he or she is really worth it, they will be patient enough and stand by you as those walls slowly come down. And to that, I think he truly has a point.

Though, I’m still undecided on whether it is wrong to assemble a fit army and build a drawbridge over a moat full of hungry alligators around your castle just because your last love let you down. I’m still undecided if it is wrong to then expect the next knight to jump over those hurdles, just to get close to you. But, I’ll tell you one thing… I’m seriously considering grabbing a shovel and starting to dig.

There’s so much more you can take from this quote. One of the best points made in this quote is in the very last line: “So, take too many pictures, laugh too much, and love as though you’ve never been hurt, because every sixty seconds you spend upset is a minute of happiness you’ll never get back.” What do you think?


2 Responses to “Bit of Happy #23: Every Sixty Seconds”

  1. Good Girl Gone Blog October 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    ALWAYS take too many pictures, because you’ll never be taking pictures of the sad times. Sometimes I find myself taking mental pictures, happy pictures that I can later browse through to cheer myself up.

    • Stephanie Frances October 14, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

      I love it! I do the same! 😀
      Thanks so much for your comment.
      Probably talk to you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

