Bit of Happy #32: Carry Him With You

27 Oct

Khristine stumbled upon this quote while reading The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks. She felt it could shed some spiritual light on my blog and personally found it optimistic in a time of hardship. Khristine did an AMAZING job sharing the following story with me and now, with all of the readers of Little Bits of Happy. It’s heart-felt, enlightening and reflective on how life can seem to be falling apart in the moment, but all you need is a little faith and guidance to find comfort in the truth – that there’s always room for opportunity in life. So here it is, and a special thanks goes out to Khristine for taking the time to share this. THANK YOUUUU!

Photograph submitted by Khristine, VA (Two.Toned)

“There’s one story behind this, and it’s quite interesting. I do not consider myself to be a very religious person and do not attend church every Sunday, but I do have strong faith in God. When my ex-boyfriend, Dave, ended our 3-year relationship only to find out he replaced me with one of my friends a few days later, I was devastated. I felt betrayed – not only by my boyfriend, but also by my friend who I was there for whenever she needed me. I didn’t know how to move on, and I was confused. It was a time when I just wanted to get away. In search of guidance, I found myself in front of my church. It was empty inside. No one was there. I sat on one of the pews and looked up at Christ’s body hanging on the cross. I burst into tears.

Being in that quiet church, I felt more connected with God. I usually find myself crying because of how painful it can be to live. I questioned Him: Why do bad things happen? I wanted to know why I was being forced to let go of people. I couldn’t see or hear him, but I felt him right next to me, listening quietly. In my head, I asked God: Why did it end like this? What did I do to deserve this? I am confused. Tell me what to do. Show me the right path. Please, God help me. I need help. I’m begging you. I know I don’t attend church as much as I should, but please, I need you.

I didn’t get my answers that day. Not the next day either. But after about six months, I was having the best time of my life. I found the answers to all of the questions I asked Him on that day at church – not right away and not all at once, but slowly and in many ways. I literally had to let go and allow Him to guide me to the right path. After six months, I fell in love with a guy who treated me like a queen, who swept me off my feet. I was truly lucky! God listens, and it is up to us to reach out and take His hand. His intentions will always be what is best for us.”

**********************************************************************

Did you find Khristine’s quote and story inspirational? You can find more of her thoughts on life on her personal blog, Two.Toned.

4 Responses to “Bit of Happy #32: Carry Him With You”

  1. twotoned October 27, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Thank you so much for taking the time to polish my story! I had a great time sharing you my bit.

    I hope it can shed some light to people who are in the midst of hardship 🙂

    • Stephanie Frances October 28, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

      Of course! Thank you for submitting a comment and sharing your story. I have no doubt that it’ll bring the inspiration to find strength in times of hardship to all who take a moment to read it.

  2. boomkaboom2608 October 28, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    That is a beautiful story!
    And I never really knew your name till now!
    You have a beautiful name!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My bit of happiness. « Two.toned - October 27, 2010

    […] I am excited to tell all of  you that I shared a “bit” of  my happiness in her blog, by submitting a quote as an inspiration for her readers. If you’d like to read the (short!) story behind the inspiring quote,  click on this link: “Carry Him with You” […]

Leave a Reply

