Bit of Happy #45: My Wish

15 Nov

I love, love, LOVE this next one. It’s a country song. I know, I know – two country songs in a row, but it really sums everything up; right in these very lyrics are all the things I would hope for, for all of the people I love the most! And to even expand that – EVERYONE! I wish this kind of life for everyone in the world. Truly, I mean that. There’s a lot you can take and learn from in this song. All of life’s most precious moments and teachings.

I believe this song shows that each and every person – you deserve all of these things – “your dreams stay big, your worries stay small.” I hope you learn to appreciate and cherish all the things this song talks about – “I hope you always forgive and you never regret, and you help somebody every chance you get.” And above all things, I hope you can find this type of strength every day of your life when you get up in the morning and close your eyes at night – “And if one door opens to another door closed, I hope you keep on walking until you find the window.”

Can you guess it? If you don’t know it.. it’s called “My Wish” by Rascal Flatts. Take a moment to listen to the lyrics. I hope you enjoy it.

I always imagined giving this song to my children (with the hope of one day being blessed with that experience, that is). The strength and encouragement within the lyrics are undeniable – the same strength and encouragement I wish to give my children every day for as long as I live.

It’s funny – the director of my mom’s preschool must have felt the same way, because she chose this song to sing for the end of the year at their graduation ceremony. For one, it amazed me that the teachers even wanted to take on the challenge of teaching such a complicated song to their little ones. And two, what was even more amazing is they learned. It shows you can teach anything with the proper patience and enthusiasm. Anyway, I wish I could show you the video of these children singing this song. It was absolutely precious. Beyond precious. And even though they probably didn’t fully understand the lyrics at that moment, I surely hope they one day find themselves living each day through that song.

Just figured this was a little story of hope to bring a few smiles. A way to start off the week on a positive note. Happy Monday!

Do you have a favorite part of the song? Find it inspiring? Encouraging? Motivating?

What lyrics can you take and learn from “My Wish?”

10 Responses to “Bit of Happy #45: My Wish”

  1. Slamdunk November 15, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    Great song and words–thanks for sharing.

    • Stephanie Frances November 16, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

      Thank you so much for your comment! I’m glad you liked the song.

  2. Kristin November 16, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    I bet the little ones singing that song were beyond precious!

    • Stephanie Frances November 16, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

      They were! I love going to my mom’s preschool’s end-of-the-year graduation ceremonies. They are so adorable!

  3. boomkaboom2608 November 16, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Nice song.

  4. Jaclyn Rae November 16, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    LOVE that song! 🙂

  5. Ettie Reavis November 24, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    Hello! Just had to chime in. I really enjoyed this blog. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

