Bit of Happy #47: Heartbreak Optimism

17 Nov

Jaclyn Rae, “expressive and curious,” started a blog at the end of October with similar aspirations to Little Bits of Happy – to share positivity and optimism through personal growth, experiences and thoughts. Always happy to spread the word and show readers other inspiring blogs, check out Jaclyn Rae’s Blog whenever you get a chance. In fact, when I first found her blog and flipped through some of her entries, I came across this quote by her father. I asked her if she’d be interested in sharing the quote with Little Bits of Happy and maybe some of her thoughts and memories of when her father gave her this advice. And obviously, she agreed and was actually thrilled to do so. So, thank you, Jaclyn Rae for sharing your quote – or well, your dad’s. Nonetheless, THANK YOU!

“Half Of My Heart.”
This is a photograph I took today actually. Applied a
filter in Photoshop – t
hought it looked cooler that way.

**********************************************************************

“This is the advice my dad gave me when my boyfriend and I broke up recently. My dad taught me that, no matter how someone else treats me, I need to love others. He is absolutely right! As soon as I started thinking about others before myself, my heart healed a lot faster.”

**********************************************************************

Jaclyn Rae’s father gives great insight into what love is truly about and accepting that who we thought might be perfect for us in the beginning may turn out not to be. His words teach us to be a little less selfish and a little more mindful of the best interest of others. As he says, love is always patient, kind and altruistic. Put others before yourself, and that is when you will begin to experience true love. Certainly throughout life, there will be times where we may not want to let the other go for the sake of our own contentment, but we know that is what’s best for the one we love. If true love exists in the relationship, you will find yourself making selfless decisions.

What advice can you take from Jaclyn Rae’s quote? Does this quote inspire you to adopt a different approach to life?

Are there other situations this quote can be applied to other than Break-Ups?

f3686d

2 Responses to “Bit of Happy #47: Heartbreak Optimism”

  1. Jaclyn Rae November 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Thanks so much for featuring my dad’s quote. I’ll definitely send him the link to this 🙂

    • Stephanie Frances November 19, 2010 at 7:55 am #

      You’re very welcome!
      Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

