Bit of Happy #50: Forever

22 Nov

It’s Bit of Happy #50 today! For some reason, I feel like this is some kind of milestone that I should recognize – half way to one hundred. Kind of ironic that today’s song is titled ‘Forever.’

Made me wonder how long Little Bits of Happy will last. I started this blog with no distinct idea of when I would be finished – no clear end point. The only goal I truly wanted to accomplish was to inspire others to seek out their own happiness through my little bits of happy, my favorite quotes. But when will I know I’ve reach that? Maybe I’ll find the answer to this question one day. But for now, I’m okay with not knowing. I’m okay with this question going unanswered.

Now to the song! ‘Forever’ by Ben Harper has been one of my favorites ever since I heard it for the first time. The gentle melody, the softly spoken lyrics and the revealed truth make this song one that I’ll never stop listening to. Sung almost at a whisper, the feeling expressed in these lyrics are strong and unforgettable. So feel free to have a listen. Hope you enjoy it!

“Forever always seems to be around when things begin, but forever never seems to be around when things end.”

The forever he sings about in this song, “Not talking about a year. No, not three or four. I don’t want that kind of forever in my life anymore,” is the kind of forever that everyone wants to find one day, right? But when do things truly last   f  o  r  e  v  e  r ? When is there as much passion and love in the beginning as there is in the end? Is it even possible? So often, our relationships take on a superficial type of forever. So often, things end with heart break. So often, things end in separation. So often, things end in divorce. What was once forever reflecting in your eyes, now leaves you wondering if things will last until tomorrow. Wow, this doesn’t sound very encouraging…

But it is meant to. Even with all odds against me, I still believe forever exists. I believe it is possible. I hope I can find my forever. Not necessarily any time soon – but one day. This song is meant to make you reflect. Make you think. Think about the future. Think about what you truly want out of this life. This song makes me recognize what the world is too often like, but it also makes me believe that there are still people out there looking for the real forever. The type of love that never dies. The type of love that understands and makes no promises that the cool winds won’t blow. The type of love that, against all odds, will never let the flame burn out, no matter what.

“So give me your forever, not a day less will do… from you.”

My BIGGEST question for you is… Did you see this as a sad song or a happy one? Was it the melody that made it sad or the lyrics?

Did you take something differently from this song?

Do you disagree with the lyrics or do you believe that are right on point?


2 Responses to “Bit of Happy #50: Forever”

  1. lushfun November 22, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    sad but relaxing song and i stopped reading after the youtube song.except 3 questions before button.

    I like these from two steps from hell, epic songs heh.


    The second one is really good.


    this is a classic really

  2. Slamdunk November 23, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Thought-provoking tune by Harper. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

