Bit of Happy #57: What are you willing to risk?

1 Dec

First of all, happy December! The season for giving, for loving, for celebrating! It’s also my birthday month. The month where the first snow falls. The month that you get to snuggle in warm blankets by the fire and drink hot chocolate. There’s a lot of great things about December – about winter. Certainly something to be happy and excited about. Okay… now on to today’s quote!

“To laugh is to risk appearing a fool; to weep is to risk appearing sentimental; to reach out for another is to risk involvement; to expose our feelings is to risk exposing our true self; to place your ideas and dreams before a crowd is to risk their loss; to love is to risk not being loved in return; to live is to risk dying; to hope is to risk despair; to try is to risk failure. But risks must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing. The person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing, is nothing. They may avoid suffering and sorrow, but they cannot learn, feel, change, grow, love, live. Chained by their attitudes, they are slaves; they have forfeited their freedom. Only those persons who risk are free. Only a person who risks is free.”
-William Arthur Ward

It’s a long one today. Though, in my mind, the length really gets the point across. Each word has its purpose. Each challenge deepens the quote’s meaning, and helps its message ring as clear as a bell. I believe the quote is not necessarily telling us to risk it all, but rather to risk enough so that we can experience life fully. So that we can learn, love, change and grow. So that we can be free.

I absolutely fell in love with this quote when my eyes first skimmed over the words. And even now when I read it over, I feel like I fall a little more each time. It not only encourages me to risk and to take chances that I wouldn’t necessarily have taken originally, but it also shows me how to live. How to learn. How to love. How to change. How to grow.

And without that extra push, without that extra reminder, who knows what opportunities I would have missed out on. And that’s why quotes have power. At least, they have power in my life. They make me reflect on choices I’ve made. They provide me with guidance when I feel the darkness closing in. They give me the confidence to live the life of my dreams. I truly believe they’ve made me a better person, inside and out.

I think that’s what ultimately inspired me to share them with all of you. That maybe if they encourage me, they’ll encourage you as well. That maybe if they give me strength, they’ll do the same for you. And if I can spread this positivity. This happiness. If I can create this type of chain reaction… this blog may very well become powerful beyond measure.

What have you taken from this quote?

What about this quote do you find inspiring?

3 Responses to “Bit of Happy #57: What are you willing to risk?”

  1. Slamdunk December 2, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Great quote and topic and I can see why you are inspired by it.

    I took that along with taking risks, we should be seen as more the “doer” and not the “critic.” The critic is someone who is always critical of others and dissuades folks from taking risks. I don’t want to be like that.

    • Stephanie Frances December 2, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

      Exactly! I love to be the encouragement in someone’s doubt. I find that I usually only cross paths with guilt when I ‘don’t do,’ and rarely regret when I ‘do.’ If I try something and an unfavorable outcome rises, at least I’ll take that and learn from it. I just know there’s not enough room for ‘What ifs’ in my life. 😀

      Thanks for your comment! Hope to hear from you again soon.

    • Posky December 3, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

      I can’t agree more with you or this post. What a wonderful find.

      I just posted an article where I mentioned that we are not just consumers of culture but creators of culture too. I hope more of us remember that.

Leave a Reply

