Bit of Happy #65: If I Die Young

13 Dec

This summer, I went to a ‘Sunday In The Country’ concert with some girl friends of mine. There were a lot of great artists who played some of my favorite songs, along with some I’d never heard before. The one that stole the spotlight over all the others was ‘If I Die Young’ by The Band Perry. And it wasn’t just the song that stuck out to me, but also the comment that one of my friends made. There’s no denying the lyrics are terribly sad and unfortunate, but she told all of us that, “It makes me appreciate everything I have in life and grateful for each day I’m given.”

Her words really meant a lot to me and got me thinking about a lot of things. I listened to the lyrics closer after the concert and got the same type of inspiration she experienced. There are countless parts of the song that have me deeply moved, but to call out a few:

(Oh, and the video is down at the bottom today, so you may want to listen to it now, and then come back up to read my take on the song! Hope you like it.)

“Lord, make me a rainbow, I’ll shine down on my mother.
She’ll know I’m safe with you when she stands under my colors.”

I loved this part ever since I first heard it. So sweet. So innocent. And if anything ever happened to me, I’d like to imagine my mother under a beautiful rainbow for the rest of her days. She knows more than anyone that life isn’t butterflies and fairy-tales and understands how quickly it can be taken away.

And even with everything she’s been through, she pushes through the dark, gloomy grey into the bright sunlight each and every day. And because of her strength, she has taught me to find my own strength. Words cannot even begin to describe how much I love and appreciate her. How much I learn from her every day. She’s definitely one of the best things that has ever happened to me (and yes, I can say that).

“A penny for my thoughts.. Oh no, I’ll sell them for a dollar.
They’re worth so much more after I’m a goner.
And maybe then you’ll hear the words I been singin’,
Funny when you’re dead how people start listenin’.”

The truth in these lyrics is undeniable. In these short few lines, an important lesson is perfectly expressed, though sung in a grave, slightly frigid way. Howeveer, the too-late type of mentality that the song takes on makes the lyrics that much stronger. It makes you realize the weight of regret. The weight of ‘What-if’s. The weight of not listening to someone who has been calling out for you… and then dealing with the consequences of being too late.

The song’s power truly exists because of the role the lyrics convey. The perspective of  ‘all of the things you never got a chance to say or do’ proves that we need to live our lives with a little more compassion and sensitivity to others. That we need to say ‘I love you’ to the one’s we love, and not just say it but also show it. You know a song has amazing lyrics when it has given you chills by the end. At least that’s all the proof I need. The Band Perry‘s If I Die Young did just that and more. So have a listen, and let me know what you think!

Happy Monday, by the way! I hope the song found a special place in your heart, as it did mine.

Did you like today’s Music Quote Monday lyrics? What did they mean to you?

2 Responses to “Bit of Happy #65: If I Die Young”

  1. Saumirah McWoodson December 13, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    This song came on the radio just yesterday, and I immediately changed it because all I know is how depressing the first few lyrics are! I still don’t think I’m quite a fan of the song, but thanks for putting a bit of a different spin on it! 🙂

    • Stephanie Frances December 16, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      I completely agree with you! Trust me, the first time I heard this song my feelings weren’t much different from yours. But my friend kind of put it in a different light, and I, after hearing it a few more times, found a lot of inspiration in the meaning behind the lyrics.

      Thank you so much for your comment. Hope to hear from you soon. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

