Bit of Happy #68: Every Waking Moment

16 Dec

An old, wooden barn across the street from my house.

“Resentment or grudges do no harm to the person against whom you had these feelings, but every day and every night of your life, they are eating at you.”
-Norman Vincent Peale

Some of the best advice I’ve ever heard from a quote are in these very words. And to me, the best advice isn’t one that tells you what to do, but rather shows you the truth. Shows you the consequences. Takes the reality and shoves it out into spotlight and then allows you to choose the path that is right for you.

Normally, this is where I give you my advice, which I know tends to be more directional (in a positive way, of course). But today, I’m going to leave it up to you to choose, just as the quote has (even though that’s ultimately what you would do anyway). So, take these words for what they are. Take this quote and consider what its value holds for you.

I know forgiveness isn’t always an easy thing to achieve. And maybe it’s not even forgiveness that this quote is telling us to work towards. Maybe it’s more of an acceptance. An acceptance of what happened. An acceptance in the past becoming the past, and no longer allowing it to interfere with the future.

I have faith in you! Hopefully you too can find some truth in this quote. Hopefully you too can one day feel the freeing effects it can encourage you to achieve. This quote has certainly done that for me in more than one instance. But I’ll tell you one thing, it’s a slow process. It’s not going to happen over night, especially if you were deeply affected by it. But you’ll get there one day. You’ll be able to close your eyes, take a deep breath and allow it to escape with a sense of relief. Just have patience. Take a little step each day (even when you’ve found yourself taking a couple steps back the day before). Before you know it, you’ll see the light. Like I said, I have faith!

What does this quote mean to you? Do you feel inspired by it?

Christmas Countdown: 9 more days!


Leave a Reply

