Bit of Happy #72: Looking Back

22 Dec

Today’s quote was submitted by my mother, Christine (very informally might I add). She would never be able to figure out how to download the Submit A Quote form, nor fill it out, nor send it as an attachment back to me! Therefore, I did all the grunt work; being computer savvy was a gift never passed to her through the world of technology. But that’s okay, because after an INCREDIBLY hectic day, she provided me with a quote – and a very good one at that!

When my mom got home from work tonight, she came in my room with a piece of paper in her hand – small and torn. She handed it to me, and in her handwriting was this quote written by Robert Brault.

“Thought you might like this for your blog,” she said with a grin, proud of her thoughtfulness.

I read it over and looked up to her, a smile tugging at my lips. “You’re right. I love it! Thank you.”

And from there, today’s inspiration was born!!!!

Decorating the Christmas Tree

As something we should all keep in mind, this quote brings up a great point. The insight into what is truly important in life – not always the big things – we are encouraged to take a moment each day and smell the roses, or feel the breeze through your hair or the warmth of the sun on your skin.

One of the little things in life that I tend to appreciate the most is the turn of each season. Not only do I love the physical changes each season offers – the beautiful colors of the turning leaves, the budding flowers of early spring, the falling snowflakes of winter, and the growing cornstalks of summer – but I also love the things I can’t see.

The little things that we must close our eyes to fully experience. Like the dewey, fresh smell of spring, or the crisp, autumn coolness that bites at your nose. Like the sounds of summer birds dipping and diving through the air, or the howling of the winter wind at my window as night falls.

If you’ve never taken a moment to take in your surroundings (which hopefully is not the case, but if it is), take that second or two. Or even a few minutes. In the summer, lay out a blanket and stare up at the clouds floating by. Or in the winter, cuddle up next to a fire and listen to the crackle of the burning wood. It’s never too late to pay attention to the little things in life. It’s never too late to appreciate them.

What are some of the little things you appreciate?

What are some of the little things that you may be missing out on? Or that you don’t take enough time to appreciate?


2 Responses to “Bit of Happy #72: Looking Back”

  1. Jaclyn Rae December 23, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    What a great quote! I love it 🙂

    • Stephanie Frances December 25, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

      Thank you! I felt the same way. I love how family members and friends are now on the look out for great quotes for me. The support really means a lot!

      Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

