Bit of Happy #75: Something Coming Over

27 Dec

Like many, I love the band, OAR. The difference – I didn’t really listen to their music until a few years ago. Most OAR fans my age grew up listening to them as a kid, but I never really gave them much of a chance until pretty recently. Anyway, one of my favorite songs – one that I fell in love with the moment I first heard it – is called “Something Coming Over.”

A love song at its finest, “Something Coming Over” takes on the excitement of a budding relationship, or perhaps the depth of loving another person so much that you find yourself changing for the better. This song tells a little love story about a guy who doesn’t recognize himself at first,

“Who’s that with his arms around you,
Making eyes at you that way?
He looks in love.
He looks familiar,
Damn, it’s me.
Never thought I’d see that day.”

but having found the girl that can settle him down, he finds himself happier than he’s ever been. The lyrics show that in his mind, she is worth settling down for; even though at first, he is unaware that it is even happening – much like the way true love seems to come about, if you ask me anyway.

“And now we’re talking about the future.
Oh, and our future’s wide open,
‘Cause your love is the best place I’ve ever been.”

This is one of my favorite lines of all the lyrics; I just love the optimism and sense of togetherness. It’s something I hope to one day experience and share with someone else – that same type of enthusiasm for each other. Openness and the ability to be spontaneous and excited about the unknown, I believe, is very important for a relationship. It keeps things fresh and new, and encourages a constant level of learning about each other.

So… if you think you know absolutely everything there is to know about the person who has your heart, think again. I’m certainly not denying or trying to discredit your closeness. I’m only attempting to challenge you. To get you to go out and find something that neither of you have ever done before, or done together. I can guarantee that whatever that experience may be, it will bring you closer. It’ll teach you more about one another, and even yourself. That’s the greatest thing about love – it’s ever growing, ever changing. And it’s up to you to keep your love growing and changing together.

Do like this song? Have you ever heard it before?

Did you see the lyrics in a different light or with a different story than I described?

Leave a Reply

