Bit of Happy #85: I Could Not Ask For More

24 Jan

I Could Not Ask For More
by Edwin McCain

Though there are many Edwin McCain songs I adore, “I Could Not Ask For More” is probably one of my favorite love songs in regard to lyrics. The undeniable love expressed through these words and the ever gratefulness of possessing that love brings this song to life. The selflessness and docility of the relationship portrayed bare optimism for the possibility – the possibility of finding the kind of love where… you couldn’t ask for anything more. And because of that very possibility, I revisit this song often when I’m looking for a little hope.

To pick out a few of my favorite verses:

“Lying here with you,
Listening to the rain.
Smiling just to see,
The smile upon your face.”

Sometimes I imagine what it would be like to live in this moment. At times, I’ll lie by my window and just listen to the droplets of a warm summer rain. And sometimes I find myself wishing when I looked over, there had been someone there lying with me. In that moment.

And as much as you may see this as an adverse recollection, I see it as opportunity. The opportunity to truly appreciate and cherish that moment when I finally do find someone to share it with. To me, there’s no better feeling than being with someone who can make me smile with their smile alone. That’s when I know I’m truly happy – when I can mirror the same optimism, no matter what kind of day I’ve had.

“Looking in your eyes,
Seeing all I need.
Everything you are,
Is everything to me.”

I think it’s pretty plain to see why I’ve fallen in love with these lyrics. I hope I can one day look into the eyes of the love of my life and see the world reflecting back at me. And this verse, more than any other lyrics I’ve ever come across, has conveyed this very connection I can only dream of one day possessing. And if I am blessed with this kind of love, I can only hope to then learn how to cherish it each and every day of my life.

One Response to “Bit of Happy #85: I Could Not Ask For More”

  1. Ado Bajic February 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Wow…I’ve been away from blogging so long that I’ve missed the launch of the new site…well done, keep it up…I have a lot of catching up to do don’t I 🙂

Leave a Reply

