Bit of Happy #99: The Greatest Accomplishment

11 Feb

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Wow, can I just say I can’t believe I’m at Bit of Happy #99? Can I also say a short weekend away will be Bit of Happy #100?! It’s incredible to think I’ve made it this far. Although #100 was never a set goal of mine, I believe it’s an undeniable accomplishment. As far as “starting” a blog goes anyway.

I went into this blog with the hope that I would make it to this kind of milestone, but I didn’t know if I’d have the discipline or the motivation to do so. I surprised myself with the level of discipline and perseverance I have found along the way in this journey. All of you have truly been my motivation to keep going. So I thank you for that! All of the positivity and optimism that has come out of this experience has been truly incredible.

Speaking of accomplishments, today’s quote is certainly one of the greatest achievements of all – in my mind anyway. Sometimes you may find yourself surrounded by a world of uncertainty. Sometimes it can be discouraging. And sometimes you may feel the need to change yourself in order to fit in.

But this quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson is telling us to fight against that struggle. To always be yourself – even in a world that is telling you to do different. There’s only one you, and you should stand up and be proud of that. To mimic what others do just to fit in is to get lost in the crowd. It is to blend in. It is to lose your strength and your individuality.

Be the hot pink standing against a white wall. Be the polka dot on a surface of straight lines. Be the sunshine breaking through the cloudy sky! It’s as easy and as difficult as being yourself.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

