Bit of Happy #120: Bring It On Home

14 Mar

Want to know why today’s Music Quote Monday is Little Big Town’s “Bring It On Home?” Because it’s… AMAZING!!!! This song – everything about it… its melody, its lyrics – makes me melt inside. The thought of one day having this type of close bond with someone is something I can only dream of finding. Of achieving. When I was younger I used to pray for a love like this. To find someone who loves me more than life. Who has willing arms that will hold me tight, and a hand that will guide me through my uncertainty. And I can only hope to return that love in the best way I know how. I’m not saying that this hope has changed, if anything, it only grows stronger and stronger every day. So, take a moment out of your busy day to relax. Breathe. Listen.

“Bring It On Home”
by Little Big Town

“You’ve got someone here,
Wants to make it all right.
Someone that loves you more,
Than life, right here.

You’ve got willing arms that’ll hold you tight.
A hand to lead you on through the night, right here.
I know your heart can get,
All tangled up inside,
But don’t you keep it to yourself.

When your long day is over,
And you can barely drag your feet.
The weight of the world,
Is on your shoulders.
I know what you need,
Bring it on home to me.”

To be completely honest, I’ve gotten this far trying to choose what parts of the song I absolutely adore. I’ve found myself getting further and further down the lyrics, and I just can’t choose which ones to nix. Not one word went to waste in this song. And for that very reason, I’m going to leave every single one in – to the very last letter.

“You know I know you,
Like the back of my hand.
You know I’m gonna do,
All that I can right here.

Gonna lie with you,
Till you fall asleep.
When the morning comes,
I’m still gonna be right here.
Yes, I am.

So take your worries,
And just drop them at the door,
Baby, leave it all behind.

When your long day is over,
And you can barely drag your feet.
The weight of the world,
Is on your shoulders.
I know what you need,
Bring it on home to me.

Baby, let me be your safe harbor.
Don’t let the water come,
And carry you away.”

The last few lines here – “Let me be your safe harbor. Don’t let the water come, and carry you away” – fill my mind with a lucid imagery of waves crashing upon the shore with the possibility of a storm brewing in the distance. And just as I begin to feel as though the ocean may swallow me whole, a light shines brightly. I close my eyes and smile softly to myself, knowing exactly what is behind me. A tall lighthouse stands against the crashing waves. My safe harbor. You.

Happy Monday!!! I hope you fall for “Bring It On Home” just the way I have.

Leave a Reply

