Bit of Happy #127: What Are You Looking For?

23 Mar

“What you see depends on what you’re looking for.”
-Anonymous

At the very last minute, I found this quote, pretty much just as I was sitting down to write today’s entry. There’s a lot truth in this short phrase, and there’s a lot to be said. Have you ever heard of the sayings, ‘You only see what you want to’ or ‘You only hear what you want to hear’? Well, it’s very similar to the point that today’s quote is trying to make.

It is often that we don’t even realize we are choosing what we see and not see, hear and not hear, believe and not believe, do and not do. It’s usually not a conscious decision, but it’s the way our brain works. There’s constantly millions of little things tugging for attention from our senses. Like right now – the smell of dinner cooking that has crept down the hallway, the sound of my fan twirling above me, the rush of cars racing by, the soft feel of the blankets on my bed, the gentle breathing of my dog, the pressure on my ankles from her body, the various soreness or aches from my muscles, the computer screen, everything in the background… Are you getting the idea yet?

Constantly, I have things demanding my attention. If I weren’t writing this entry right now that is asking me to notice my surroundings, I probably wouldn’t have even acknowledged them in the first place. In order to focus on any one thing, we have to allow other things to fade into the background. It’s how our minds think without interruption. It’s how we get “in the zone,” despite what is going on outside of our world. Instead of opening our mind to everything that is around us, sometimes we find ourselves staying closed in to what we consider comfortable – “our bubble.” And that is the exact awareness that this Anonymous author is trying to bring out in the open.

Do you think it is positive to do this in life?

Do you think there may be a lot of missed opportunities with this attitude?

Do you think this results in close-mindedness? If so, how can we work towards breaking that barrier?

Leave a Reply

