Bit of Happy 131: Goals Aren’t Enough!

29 Mar

“Goals aren’t enough! You need goals plus deadlines: goals big enough to get excited about and deadlines to make you run. One isn’t much good without the other, but together they can be tremendous.”
-Ben Feldman

A while back, I started thinking about where Little Bits of Happy was going. What do I want to accomplish? When will it be finished? How many Little Bits of Happy should there be? For the past two months or so, I’ve been sitting on these big questions. I started this blog without a clear distinct ending point, and though I had a goal of changing the world through my quotes and my thoughts… how will I measure the success of that?

Though some of these questions are still left unanswered, today’s quote by Ben Feldman made me realize the true importance of deadlines. The goal of changing lives through my words was certainly enough to get me excited, but it’s the deadline that I believe will give me the drive to accomplish it. So here it is:

Deadline: I want to get to Bit of Happy #365 by April 30 of next year, 2012.

That’s right! 365 Quotes – one quote for each day of the year! Like your morning coffee, Little Bits of Happy can become a daily ritual – that little bit of inspiration to get motivated for the day ahead.

Since I have #234 left, and that’s more than twice the amount that I have now, I realize the weight of this commitment. It will take a lot of motivation to still be posting a Little Bit of Happy every day this time next year. But I want to do this. And as long as that passion, that drive stays with me, I know I can do this.

Why does there have to be an end? There are a lot of other dreams and aspirations I want to accomplish in life. And believe it or not, this commitment takes up a great deal of my time. Because of this, it is important to have a deadline – an ending point. Not because I want Little Bits of Happy to end, but because I want to fully experience this and then move on to the next chapter in my life. I never imagined this blog would steal my heart the way it has. I’ve always wanted to start one, but never did I think beyond its beginning. And now that Little Bits of Happy has hit the ground running, up to #131, the next step was to look into the future.

I hope you liked today’s quote, and perhaps felt inspired to create a deadline for a goal you have in life. Deadlines get things started and accomplished. And I think it helps us see that what we want is possible. The first step is to begin!

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

