Bit of Happy #141: Possibility

12 Apr

“I don’t need easy, I just need possible.”
-The Movie, Soul Surfer

Now, that’s an attitude that never gives up. Though, I’ve never seen the movie, Soul Surfer (in fact, I’m not sure it’s even out in theaters yet) is built from an amazing quote and story.

The first time I heard it I was sitting on my bed with my laptop, writing an entry for Little Bits of Happy. I had the TV on for background noise, and for whatever reason, my ears perked up when the trailer‘s main character spoke these words. I looked up from my computer screen and took in its meaning.

Suddenly, as I found myself pondering the depth of this quote, I realized it would be PERFECT to share on Little Bits of Happy. I did a little research, and Soul Surfer was actually based on a true story. It’s about a girl named Bethany Hamilton who lived, breathed and dreamed about surfing. One day while out in the water, a shark bit her, and she lost one of her arms in the attack. This quote comes out of her recovery. Out of her bravery. Out of learning to surf again, only this time without one of her arms. She struggles, but makes it very clear that it doesn’t have to be easy, as long as it’s possible.

I think we can all take a lot from this type of attitude and apply it to our own lives. I think sometimes when the going gets tough, we give up. We walk away. We find an easier route. But this quote is telling us to do the opposite. It is telling us to have the courage to go after what is possible, not what is easy. It is telling us to dream big, and if there’s a will and a way that we can make it our reality.

I hope you liked today’s quote as much as I did!

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

