Bit of Happy #14: Failure To Launch

1 Oct

“Don’t fear failure so much that you refuse to try new things. The saddest summary of life contains three descriptions: Could have, Might have and Should have.”
-Louis E. Boone

Take a look in the mirror and ask yourself: What’s one thing I would truly regret not doing in life? The answer to this very question begins to reveal the priorities that need to be set in your life. It begins to show you what is truly important to you. What your values are. What you goals in life are. What you should be devoting more time towards.

Is it being a better father? Or skydiving out of a plane? Or traveling to a different country? Or taking up painting lessons? Or maybe even going apple picking… What is that one thing that you would be broken if you didn’t have a chance to do before you died?

Reflect on your life, the things you want to accomplish, and start setting some goals!

Something I’ve always wanted to do before I die is get a book published, and if not published – at the very least, written. I always knew I wanted to write a story. I just never knew what to write about. I pondered writing completely non-fiction pieces, but there just wasn’t enough passion or drive in me to get it written – to want to share the story to the world. A friend from college was the one that gave me the most brilliant idea of all. Even though I’m not quite ready to share that idea with the world, hopefully I will be one day. And that day I will be able to share it with all of you.

But publishing a book, even though it is high on my list of things to accomplish, you can tell from the Bit of Happy #11 : Give Life Your All entry I have many more things I want to do before I die. Many things that I would disappointed if I didn’t have the chance or opportunity to do. But don’t let a long list overwhelm you. Step back and do one thing at a time. And most importantly, enjoy all of your experiences and the journey you take to accomplishment them!


Leave a comment